Forty-nine Kentucky teachers selected for 2015-2016 Next Generation Instructional Design Network

The Fund for Transforming Education in Kentucky has chosen forty-nine teachers from across the Commonwealth to participate in its 2015-2016 Next Generation Instructional Design Network (NGID Network).

The teachers, chosen for their commitment to professional learning and interest in collaborative teaching, were selected from a pool of more than 70 applicants. Over the 2015-2016 school year, the group will join forces to create and implement common units of study – instructional tasks, lessons and assessments to help students master more academically rigorous content. The units will be aligned to the Kentucky Core Academic Standards, which includes in entirety the Common Core, Next Generation Science Standards and the C3 Social Studies Framework.

By collaborating across school and district lines, teachers can create and implement common units of study and mathematics formative assessment lessons that will allow them to meet students’ needs toward college and career readiness in a global world.

“Teachers all across this country often find themselves isolated from the larger world in which we live and work. This project is unique in that it brings teachers together, outside of the classroom, to align best practices and enhance the student learning experience. It’s an exciting opportunity for both the stellar cadre of teachers selected to participate and the students in their classrooms this year,” said Barbara Bellissimo, Executive Director of The Fund.

The concept of the NGID Network initiated from a research study with a smaller group of Kentucky and Colorado teachers, known as the Common Assignment Study (CAS). Those who participated in CAS will take the lessons-learned from that study and apply those when leading the group of participants selected for the 2015-2016 NGID Network. Together they will create a collection of commonly created lessons and assessments for use by other Kentucky teachers that are more inquiry based in design and that align with students’ actual interests.

Renee Boss, Initiative Director for The Fund, expressed enthusiasm for the potential of the NGID Network and its continuation of the Common Assignment Study.

“Based on research and previous learning about what teachers need for professional development, we (The Fund) are committed to learning led by teachers. Ten of our teachers from the Common Assignment Study will lead the Next Generation Instructional Design Network. It’s inspiring to see this work spreading across the Commonwealth and ultimately creating a better learning experience for our students.”

2015-2016 NGID Network

Angela Baker Berea Independent
Lisa Bartley Washington County
Leslie Bartow Henderson County
Kim Blythe Henderson County
Christopher Boss Franklin County
Anna Brannen Jessamine County
Janice Bullard Shelby County
Mickey Campbell Fayette County
Susan Cintra Madison County
Amy Clancy Walton-Verona Independent
Jacqueline Coleman Jessamine County
Adrienne Custer Graves County
Toni Dix Jessamine County
Jennifer English Henderson County
Christina Ethridge Trigg County
Summer Garris Larue County
Lindsay Ginsburg Muhlenberg County
Zack Hardin Fayette County
Kristina Hill Shelby County
Jessica Holman Boone County
Iris Isaacs Fayette County
Carmen Johnson Elizabethtown Independent
Ellen Kenimer Jessamine County
Ashley Lamb-Sinclair Oldham County
Nathan Lockhart Fayette County
Mark Mallory Graves County
Brian McDowell Mason County
Kevin Melloan Fayette County
Melissa Mills Elizabethtown Independent
Martha Nau Jessamine County
Emily Northcutt Hart County
Sarah Orear Elizabethtown Independent
Kari Patrick Shelby County
Caroline Rea Caldwell County
Josh Rhodes Jefferson County
Sheena Roller Jessamine County
Katie Ruff Henry County
Samantha Sams Woodford County
Lacey Schrock Trigg County
Michelle Schuster Boone County
Tricia Shelton Boone County
Joanna Stevens Lincoln County
Lisa Stevens Trigg County
Susan Strait Jessamine County
Kenita Sutherland Marshall County
Melissa Thompson Jessamine County
Lisa Voils Fayette County
Theresa Wilkins Ballard County
Kathie Wrightson Shelby County


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *